Tags

, , , , , , , ,

rain
and rain again
a steady downpour,
no umbrella,
stomach growling ~
not far now…

there!
the safe haven,
distributor of The Best,
french fries, edible gold
so close.
my middle celebrates;
already tasting
sweet release…

soon.

through the tall windows, brightly lit, i see
tiles, polished to high sheen
village’s drunkard
in his usual spot,
head low, caressing
a bottle of beer;
the smellΒ of fried goods
tickles, tortures my nose.

door opened by longing hand
to bells, jingling;
heaven’s sound
to my near-starving, soppy self ~
greetedΒ by the snack bar’s owner,
i take my first step
to salvation

no warning for me,
my feet leave treacherous ground,
rear hits the tiles, hard ~
adventurous sneaker
escapes
to make contact
with my heart’s desire ~
the deep fryer.

the owner, baffled,
stares at the frying shoe
while i sit in pain, ears turning crimson ~
and the drunkard
honors me with a mumbled
” be more careful next time, girl”,
before he turns to
more pressing,
gulping matters.

i shared this because ofΒ dVerse‘s tempting call for the Unexpected…
ahem… “unfortunately”, a true story.

