Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I have longed to move away
the faded doormat declares ‘home’
From the hissing of the spent lie
at the foot of this haunted house
And the old terrors’ continual cry
where we close our eyes, salute tradition
Growing more terrible as the day
(and endure, only to wither)
Goes over the hill into the deep sea;
as time grows long and parched;
I have longed to move away
where our shells dwell and hearts take flight
From the repetition of salutes,
to the tunes of a ruinous, stagnant past
For there are ghosts in the air
nailed to the doors; totems of yore
And ghostly echoes on paper,
sealed with bloody kisses, entombed
And the thunder of calls and notes.
to bury prospects forever.

I have longed to move away but am afraid;
here we vegetate; naked eye and callused feet
Some life, yet unspent, might explode
ancestor’s footsteps well-stocked with glowing embers
Out of the old lie burning on the ground,
where the blatant chains weigh us down
And, crackling into the air, leave me half-blind.
we hold the torch till days turn to dust.
Neither by night’s ancient fear,
how shall we roam free
The parting of hat from hair,
if trapped by shame,
Pursed lips at the receiver,
if held by a name –
Shall I fall to death’s feather.
if our graves are dug before we live?
By these I would not care to die,
claim tomorrow, repel the bonds
Half convention and half lie.
and find your Own, far beyond the ruins.

__________________________________________________________________
I tackled a marvellous piece written by my favorite poet… Mr. Dylan Thomas’I Have Longed To Move Away“. May he forgive me.

