Night|in|gale

in the small hours I scream in silence &
plead beneath the starry sky;
toothbrush clenched in one wilting hand, the other
brushing aside yet another pallid tear

I ask the night
to change.
something.
anything!
that your image might grow pale &
I can pretend to not (always)
feel you —
at the edge of my life

I blink &
a sentient shooting star
leaves a shy promise
imprinted on my irises.

________________________________________________________________________
For today’s Poetics over at dVerse Poets Pub, Lisa invites us to write a poem about semiotics, the study of signs and symbols and their use or interpretation. I chose to write about an emotionally very rough night I experienced recently. Fortunately, it
had a silver lining.
Come on over and join us at the bar!

39 thoughts on “Night|in|gale

  1. I went outside tonight and sat on one of the swings on my kids’ playset. I was talking to God and I asked Him to fix me (don’t ask, I’m a mess–anxiety is really bad today). I started to swing and I looked up at the Big Dipper, and started writing a poem in my head about the handle of stars…a shooting star “flew”, “fell”, whatever you want to call it…into the dipper.🥹 I thought of you.❤️❤️

    Liked by 1 person

    • Melissa, that is so beautiful!! I am glad you got a sign of hope right when you needed it the most. So touching… I hope you made a wish and I hope, everything you wished for will come to pass. How sweet of you to think of me. 🙂 ❤

      Liked by 1 person

Care to share your thoughts?